Subaru News

Subaru Announces Winners of 2013 U.S. National Technician Competition

- Awards spotlight top scorers on national tests, on-the-job excellence and community service

Cherry Hill, N.J., August 7, 2013 - Subaru of America, Inc., today announced that Jason Sherrill of Wyoming Valley Subaru in Kingston, Penn. is this year’s Subaru U.S. National Technician Competition Champion. He will represent the United States in the Subaru International Technician Competition to be held this November in Takao, Japan.

This is the fourth year that Subaru of America, Inc. has hosted the competition. The three-part competition is comprised of a one hour written test to gauge the contestants’ academic knowledge followed by two hands-on technical challenges.

Sherrill is a shop foreman who has been a Subaru technician for nine years and holds the title of Subaru Senior Master Technician. Sherrill participated in the 2011 competition, finishing in second place. For his first place win, as well as entry into the Technician finals, Sherrill was presented with a plaque from Subaru of America and a recognition gift from Subaru parent company Fuji Heavy Industries.

Gary Palanjian, Subaru of America vice president of parts and service said: “Our phenomenal sales success in recent years means there are many more Subaru vehicles on the road every day. When you factor in that today’s customers have higher service expectations than ever before it becomes clear that we need to develop the next generation of Subaru technicians to the highest standard possible. Savvy customers recognize the best place for service their Subarus is their local Subaru dealership, which has a staff of highly qualified, factory-trained technicians. These awards are a great way for us to recognize the excellent technicians we have in our dealerships.”

Overall rankings:
1st Place: Jason Sherrill – Wyoming Valley Subaru, Kingston, PA
2nd Place: Mark Jurkovski – Morrie’s Subaru, Minnetonka, MN
3rd Place: Bret Carter – AutoNation Subaru West, Golden, CO

Runner-up Group (in no particular order):
Daniel Overfield – Yark Subaru, Toledo, OH
Danny Squires – Carr Subaru, Portland, OR
Gregory Knothe – Rancho Grande Motors, San Luis Obispo, CA
Greg Sampley – Maple Hill Subaru, Kalamazoo, MI
Jason Ewing – North Park Subaru, San Antonio, TX
Jeffrey Sparrow – Mastro Subaru, Tampa, FL
Jeremy DeGroodt – Capitol Subaru, San Jose, CA
John M. Hollingsworth, Jr. – Subaru of Kennesaw, Marietta, GA
Matthew Bahr – Bill Kolb, Jr Subaru, Orangeburg, NY
William Wright – Pence Subaru, Midlothian, VA

For press release, click here.